This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. Please change browser settings to disable cookies if you do not wish to receive them. Privacy Statement on Analytic Cookies.

Bookbug

 

Bookbug and baby

Bookbug is the government's book gifting programme for the under fives.Shetland Library, in partnership with NHS Shetland, provides four stages of packs to encourage a love of books and reading.

Bookbug web page

  • Packs 1 and 2 can be collected from your Health Visitor at 7 week and 18 month checks, or from the Library.
  • Pack 3 is gifted to children in their early years setting for every 3 year old.
  • Pack 4 is gifted to every primary one pupil each November.

News: Find out about our Bookbug Extra funding bid to Shetland Community Choices.

Download our special Shetland 10 things to do before you're 3 placemat

 

Bookbug now has sessions for Babies (simple songs, rhymes and stories) and Toddlers (active songs and rhymes, a longer story plus lycra games).

Please choose the session which you feel would best suit you and your child.

 

Todder and Baby Session in Old Library Centre, Lower Hillhead, Lerwick

Toddler Sessions

Wednesday 16 May 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm
Wednesday 13 June 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm
Wednesday 22 August 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm
Wednesday 19 September 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm
Wednesday 10 October 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm
Wednesday 14 November 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm
Wednesday 12 December 2018 2.00 pm - 2.45 pm

Baby Sessions

 
Friday 18 May 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am
Friday 15 June 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am
Friday 24 August 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am
Friday 21 September 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am
Friday 12 October 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am
Friday 16 November 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am
Friday 14 December 2018 10.30 am - 11.15 am

 

Bookbug

Bookbug Session in Baltasound Junior High School

 
Every Tuesday during term time at 11.30 am  

 

 

Bookbug Session in Burravoe Primary School

 
Friday 27 April 2018 at 10.00 am - 10.45 am  

 

Bookbug Session in Sandwick School Library

 
Wednesday 9 May 2018 at 9.00 am and 1.30 pm  
 

Sign up to the Bookbug Email Alert system at http://www.scottishbooktrust.com/bookbug/signup to find out when your baby, toddler or three year old will receive their free Bookbug pack of books.

 

For further information on Bookbug please contact Morag Nicolson, Young People's Services Librarian on 01595 743864.

 

 

Back to Top